Meme: Five questions (from Shadey)

Here’s another meme doing the rounds.  Shadey left me some questions so here are my answers. If anyone else wants to ask me stuff, feel free.

If you like, leave a comment saying “:D” and:

-I’ll respond by asking you five questions to satisfy my curiosity.
-Update your journal/blog with the answers to your questions.
-Include this explanation and offer to ask other people questions.



1. Have you ever attended a writing group or/and had written work published?

I have never been to a writing group, no.  I do go to a book club in a chocolate shop, though.  We drink hot chocolate and fancy teas and eat cake and sometimes we argue about the books we read.  Yes I have had a few things published that are non-fiction related to work, and I have to get a lot more published really (have several chapters and papers I’m working on when I’m not simming at the moment).  As for fiction, no, I used to write a lot as a kid but have only really got back into it with the simming story community.  I would love to write a novel or screenplay one day but I don’t know if I have the patience or a strong enough idea to pursue.

2. Do you have any phobias?

I hate the telephone, like really hate it.  Text messages are fine, or a brief call to friends when I’m in the shop to ask if they need anything, but calling my doctor’s or a business or whatever makes me panic and it takes ages to work up the courage.  I’m not entirely sure why – we never had a phone growing up so maybe that’s it.  It just seems such a deficient medium for communication and lacks the extra cues you get in face to face, or the ability to think and edit you get in written or digital communication.

I had a phobia of fire which my parents reckon goes back to seeing the Bradford City football ground fire when I was about four or five.  I am less phobic now but still not entirely keen.  I won’t have a gas oven or a microwave because they give me the fear and I am afraid of explosions and bombs (I guess the influence of the IRA?).  I also really, really hate heights.  My dad is scared of heights too and my brother isn’t keen so maybe it’s hereditary.

3. What did you want to be when you grew up?

Lots of things.  A teacher, an author, an actress, a pop star, a journalist… I’m not a pop star (though I love music) but the other things are still a part of my life in some capacity or another.
4. What is the furthest away from home you have ever been?

I went to Colorado in January for a conference,  the first time I have ever been out of Europe.

5. What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Well I hope I will finish my PhD and publish books and papers – they will probably be the biggest achievements, especially if they are well received.  But as they’re as yet unfulfilled I would say a) passing my driving test, b) recovering from a serious bout of depression in my mid-twenties and rebuilding my life after some pretty devastating circumstances (sorry, that’s rather heavy!), c) buying my first car (I dreamed of owning a house and car since I was little, one down, one to go) and d) Doing well at my degrees, particularly my MA (which I did during the period alluded to in b).

6 thoughts on “Meme: Five questions (from Shadey)

  1. Haha – I disabled that “like this post” thing on my blog as soon as I knew I could, but I like using it on other people’s blogs.

    I love the questions and the answers!!! 🙂

    OMG, I get the hatred of calling strangers on the phone.

    I’m glad you manage to read my stuff despite the fire phobia. 🙂

    That’s an interesting thought, about phobias being hereditary.

    I think that a lot of people have a rough time in their early to mid twenties. I know I did. *hugs* And wow, yeah – doing well at school despite the depression and circumstances is a huge accomplishment.

  2. I hereby give you the Personal Strength and Pullable Bootstrap Award for 5b and 5d. I also give you chocolate. Note that the Award is not chocolate-covered, as that would get messy. 🙂

    I hate businessy telephone calls, too. I sometimes have to psych myself up just to call the dentist. 😦

    • My dentist has weird opening hours, and their answering machine doesn’t tell them what they are so you have to pluck up the courage several times 😦

  3. Those are some very impressive achievements, as DB says; b and d in particular. I hope you’ll soon get that dream house of yours as well.
    I sat my driving test up here in the North and I tell you; it was the easiest driving test in man’s memory! There is no way I could have failed it. Good job I learnt to drive properly afterwards. 😛

    1) I was certain that you would have been busy with writing fiction as well as non-fiction. Many people who write a lot in their jobs often find they have a craving to write creatively, and I thought you might be one of them. Well, perhaps you are; what with your sims stories. 🙂

    2) The fire phobia makes complete sense but the phone one is a bit more unusual. Strange, you strike me as a very strong and approachable/approaching person who would thing nothing of phoning the local MP if there was something you felt he/she should deal with. It’s shy people like me who has to pull themselves together to get important phone calls done. That’s what I thought anyhow. I’ll have to re-assess that impression.

    3) Lovely that you have achieved almost all of what you wanted as a child. For the longest time I wanted to be the owner of a dump so I could get stuff for free, fix it up, and then trade it away. lol, I wanted to be an actress too, and even now the idea still plays on my mind. Not sure what role I would be a suitable actress for; my accent is all over the place.

    Thanks for answering my questions Rad, interesting stuff. 🙂

    • 1) Well I’ve always had ideas for fiction but until I started writing sims stories, I rarely got them off the ground.

      2) I would approach someone face-to-face or via email/twitter/web forms etc if there was something that needed sorting. Just not the phone. Hate it.

Leave a Reply

