A Snap of Life #1

I’m using Indigo Blind Knight as my sim in Boolprop’s A Snap of Life competition.  There will be different photo-story challenges each round, and I thought I’d put them up here as well for all you Rainbow Knights fans who don’t visit Boolprop.

The first challenge is as follows (just copied and pasted from the original because I’m lazy sometimes):

Now you’re a Young Adult it’s time to find your own place.
Do you move into a house or a flat?
Are you on your own or sharing with friends?
Where will your Sim end up?
Three Pictures again this round; a Headshot, A Fullbody and A Freestyle.
You may post further pictures if you wish (max 4)

I have just made the hardest decision of my life. My fiancé and I had only been living in our own place a few days when something within me told me I had to get out.

It wasn’t him. It was me.

It sounds like a cliché but it’s true. You see, we had what you might call an unconventional relationship. We’d always been together, ever since we were little, ever since I can remember. I recall him as a little boy singing to me – that sound which gave me life. I remember the tea parties and pillow fights we had as we grew up, and later, those magical nights under the stars, dreaming of what might be… but then my dreams came true and I realised I felt somehow suffocated. I loved him. I loved him more than I could say – but I hadn’t known anything else but him. I had to leave. I had to know who I was, as myself, not simply an extension of him.

He was devastated when I told him. We cried together, but as he sobbed into my chest, I saw the sun out of the sky, beaming over the horizon, calling me away, and I knew it really was my time.

I decided on Barnacle Bay. It wasn’t too far from our life in Twinbrook, but far enough that I could make a new start. As the taxi dropped me at the lettings agency I was trembling, both from fear and excitement.

There was only one place I could afford to rent with the little money I had saved from my old stylist job. The lettings agent warned me it would need a lot of work – they weren’t kidding.

(FULL BODY SHOT)

I sat on the bare wood floor and tried to dream of what my home might look like – the colour I would paint the walls, the kind of furniture I would buy… but as I looked, fear took over and all I could think about was how expensive this would all be, how I didn’t have any styling clients here, how had it would be without him to hold my hand.

The fear rose as panic in my chest and I could hardly breathe. I ran from the house.

(HEAD SHOT)

Fear gripped me so that my body reverted to its old form, its childlike form. It felt safer to revert back, and I began to run and run and run, wondering whether, if I ran far enough, I would be able to run back home to Twinbrook.

But as I ran, the beach began to swim into view, the sound of the sea roaring, the smell of the salt-sweet air, the rustle of the sand, the majesty of the cliffs all overtook my fear and turned it into excitement.

I looked down and found I was back to my normal self. I was back to being me.

(FREESTYLE)

I looked out – water as far as I could see – the horizon stretched before me. As the water lapped near my feet and the breeze tickled my neck, I surveyed my new world.

This really was my time.

2 thoughts on “A Snap of Life #1

Leave a Reply

